Lukthrupoems

Bittersweet

Letter from a grown-up child.

lukthru
2 min readAug 11, 2023

--

white swan on brown soil
Photo by Ben Wicks on Unsplash

You used to be my sunshine.
Sometimes when days are tough,
You warm me up,
and make sure I am fine.
You even pave the way,
and assure that the road ahead is not too rough.

The climbing vines on the wall start to fade,
and this is the price I have to pay,
for sleeping in your greenhouse for decades.
As I keep my eyes open,
I notice the darkness creeping in.

Despite the darkness in the cocoon,
I realized,
the best antidote to despair is action.
It is time to undergo a metamorphosis and set free
One day, I will look back on the expedition,
and say,
‘This is bittersweet’.

Why ‘Bittersweet’?

This poem describes a child’s (the butterfly) love/hate feelings towards a caregiver (the sun). Jane had a happy childhood with very good protection. She thought that the world was not dangerous at all as her parents had already paved the way.

--

--

lukthru

🇭🇰 +852 | ESL teacher | Jack-of-all-trades-master-of-none-happy-go-lucky slacker|